The Horn is your place for grown-up conversation.
We designed The Horn for you.
The Horn is a file-sharing and social network for people who are fed up with the major social networks bombarding them with advertising and selling their personal data. The Horn is completely free of third-party advertising. We do not sell or give away your personal date. The Horn has been created specifically to address many things people don’t like about the other social networks. (You know who we’re talking about…)
A Different Kind of Social Network
The Horn is similar to other social networks, but with some very important differences. Most privacy permissions on The Horn default to “Colleagues Only”. (“Colleagues” is The Horn’s term for what most other social networks call “friends”.) It’s super-easy to change your default privacy permissions, and just as easy to change the privacy permission of every post you make, while you’re making it.
Your Privacy is Our Business
The Horn Network can be viewed only by people who are logged in. To non-members, The Horn is completely “walled-off” from the public internet – outside strangers can’t see your stuff. This is even true for search engines: Nothing you post on The Horn will ever show up on Google, either.
Easily Share Files with Your Friends
Your account on The Horn includes 100 Gigs of cloud storage – that’s right, in addition to social networking The Horn can essentially replace your Dropbox, OneDrive or cloud storage account for many users. And it’s really easy to share files with your friends: For every file you upload you can set the permission for either yourself (no one can see that file except you), or your Colleagues – which gives your friends the ability to both view the file and download it. And all privacy controls for your files are easy to use.
No Editing of your Personal Streams
You know how some networks will edit out Billy’s posts so that they can show a “Boosted Post” instead? The Horn doesn’t do that. On our network, you see virtually everything your Colleagues and fellow group members post (everything except private posts members make to themselves only). Nothing is removed – either by an algorithm or a human. (And, because we don’t show any third-party ads, you won’t see any “Sponsored Content” or “Boosted Posts”, either.)
Groups Done Right
You can start groups on The Horn like you can on other networks… but there’s more: Not only can your group be public, but you can create private and hidden groups – where membership is by invitation only, and your discussions and files are not viewable by other members. (Hidden groups do not even show up in internal search results.) All groups can share calendars, collaborate on documents, and store and share files for all group members.
Private Messaging: The Best of Both Worlds
When it comes to private communication among members, some networks use a “DM”-type inbox system, and some use a real-time chat environment. The Horn actually combines these two systems into something truly unique. You can leave messages for your Colleagues when they’re not logged in, and they will get them when they log on later. But: If you’re both online, the message system converts to a real-time chat, which you can access via a popup window attached to the bottom of your screen. (And don’t worry: Only your Colleagues can chat with you – you won’t be bothered by strangers.)
It’s Easy to Invite Your (Real-World) Friends
The Horn is not like most other social networks. Because many things default to a private, “Colleagues-only” environment, when you first log on you might not find many people to talk to. Remember: The whole idea of this place is to communicate privately with your REAL, real-world friends.
So with that in mind, we’ve included a super-simple app in your profile to help you invite your friends. Just plug in their email addresses, and they’ll receive an invitation directly from you. It couldn’t be easier.
It’s Easy to Quit
Have you ever tried to delete your social network account? Good luck… But you can cancel your account on The Horn at any time, with only two clicks – and you don’t need our “help” to do it. And when you cancel, EVERYTHING you have posted and uploaded to the service is INSTANTLY deleted – that’s right: everything, instantly. There’s your “Right to Delete”, right there….
You Can Afford This
We can bring you all this goodness – and not bring you any third-party ads, ever – by charging you only $3.99 a month to join The Horn. Or even better, $30 a year – that’s almost half off the monthly rate. And nothing you post to your friends will end up on Google ever again. You can thank us later….